Raw

Our first milk run arrives today! Unfortunately, I didn’t realise they would send it out so quickly and I’m not in work until tomorrow! 

I’ve never handled raw milk before, so it really is a new journey for us. I have only read you shouldn’t consume it because of bacteria, but everything I have read into this time says that isn’t an issue as dairies and the animals are cleaner, healthier environments now. I wish I wasn’t nervous about it, I really want to get Leo onto it but the jury is still out there! 

I’ve been reading about how easy it is to make cottage cheese from fresh milk, butter looks somewhat more involved but I think I will still have a crack at it. I can also then get whey out of it and I am considering looking into drying that for powder to have as a boost, but I haven’t really investigated that yet. 

Leave a Reply

