A disturbing reality 

I have owned animals my entire life and be brought up to respect them. My mother is a vegetarian and has been for many years, but she has let us take our own path in life and, until now, I have chosen that of the carnivore. 

We went out yesterday to a local farm, I wanted Leo to see the cows as he loves them at the minute. The farm has their own dairy herd and what we were presented with, were the tiniest little calves I have ever seen. The smallest were pitifully shivering in their stall,  it made my blood run cold and I felt sick to my stomach. 

One thing I have always been good at is avoiding things that cause me discomfort, and thinking about the harsh reality of the dairy industry is one of them. For the last few years, I have consciously made the effort to source my meat from outdoor bred and raised animals for the majority, but I will hold my hands up to this not being 100% of the time. 

I decided to read about the dairy industry last night, whilst they are making steps to do things better, it’s not compulsory and is far from what sits well with me, so I’m done. I mentioned it to one of my friends and she just mentioned that I may want to watch Farm to Fridge. Well, I didn’t even manage 30 seconds. It is barbaric and unless I can guarantee that I know the life and source of what we buy, there will be no meat bought in this house and I won’t be eating it regardless. I don’t feel it is my place to make the decision for anyone else, but I will teach Leo to be responsible for what he consumes.   

Leave a Reply

